Kanye to The banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
922 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
"Much Less Than An Obsession, But More Of An Appreciation For Kanye West"

I admire Kanye West and have been a die hard fan of Kanye, dating back since the beginning of his rapping career, while I was a student in elementary school. The music Kanye releases is amazing and he continues to satisfy my music tastes, even to present day. Even more so, I am intrigued by Kanye as an artist and as a person. I have always wondered if I was the only one with strong opinions towards Kanye, and felt that my peers aren't able to understand the artist as coherently as I do. The matter of the fact is that ultimately Kanye has allowed for me to learn about the many aspects of the lives of others and effectively, my own life. I have, both in the past and currently, continue to criticize Kanye for many of the mistakes (or what I view as mistakes) known to the public that he has committed within his life, some that seem unknown to him (i.e. such as being a hypocrite, mediocre; in terms of rapping and his fashion choice, possibly someone who is too arrogant to change, the dropping of rapper Consequence on his G.O.O.D. Music Record Label, his relationship with Amber Rose, and recently with Kim Kardashian, etc.) Yet, I strongly feel that his flaws aren't necessarily pointless, since they help shape Kanye to the person he presently is, or claims to be. Particularly, I know a lot about Kanye West and the topics that surround him. However, normally, I consider myself to be an hip-hop historian and someone that is fluently familiar with the American rap culture. Popular culture, generally, has always been an interest to me. My concern is that now that I am a senior in high school and nearly an adult, I question the purpose of studying Kanye West.

To everyone registered on this website, I have a question that I would like to ask.

Why am I so interested in Kanye West?