Kanye to The banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Banned
45,803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok... so I just realized I have an essay due for Film (1500 words) on November 18 and I was just wondering since some of you here have a deep passion for movies and everything about them, maybe if you could help me write this essay? It's not like a research thing, mostly words from yourself, and I'm not really good at describing movie scenes in essay form but like some of you are... e.g. D-Boy, 8th Wonder, JP Diaz. Micool, the whole 7 Day Cinema cast etc. so like would I be asking too much if I asked you to like write an essay on one of the clips from Gran Torino analyzing it and all? I mean it'd be just like writing a review for 7 Day Cinema except this time you would be writing about a clip instead of a whole movie... here's the actual question to make it easier...

"Provide a close reading of the first scene of either All that Heaven Allows or Gran
Torino.  Discuss the cinematic elements at work in these opening scenes, and consider
them in the context of the film as a whole.  How do aspects of the opening scenes set up
and relate to scenes later in the film stylistically and thematically?"

I'll YouTube the clip once I watch it today and then I'll paste the link here so you can guys can see which clip I wanna analyze...

This is kinda cool too if you needed any further info..

FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS

1.  The aim of this assignment is to demonstrate your ability to do close analysis of the
screened clip based upon the material covered and what you have learned in the course
thus far.  You are not to provide a plot synopsis of the events of the clip or the clip
(although of course you need to explain briefly what is going on and its relation to the
entire film).  The structure of your essay should be determined by the shape of your
analysis.  Don’t merely describe the scene and its various elements.