Kanye to The banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just started to take up running middle distance, (I see myself as a sprinter though) went once and loved it, its at the local athletics club, and im running on a proper track. I want to continue it, my best friend who used to run alot in the past is bugging me to get some runing spikes, but I'm not too sure what the benefit of them would be to me? I play football/soccer and I just go along in my astro turfs, would running spikes really benefit me? I'm an amateur with the running thing, is it too early to get spikes? Help!

·
Registered
5,556 Posts
I'm a little confused as you mentioned soccer also. But I take it you're more of a 400m runner than a 800m runner. Unless you're already scores better than the competition, you will need spikes. If you need traction for football/soccer, obviously, get some cleats. Metal spikes tend to tear up both balls and people.

:oblivious:

They're strictly for competition. If you have it in your training plan, you might pull them out on your "race-running workout" days but otherwise, it's just an investment in better game day results. They lack the support that one needs to sustain the jarring leg movement of a full training session. Ignoring that would put you in a state of great vulnerability to injury.

Hope I didn't completely misinterpret the question.

·
Registered
49,174 Posts
As stated earlier, you do not want to wear racing spikes unless you are actually racing. Training in them will completely ruin your legs.

However, if you're really looking into buying some, a decent middle distance pair I would recommend are the NIke Zoom Rival D. If you are willing to spend a little more money, then I would definitely recommend the Nike Zoom Victory.

http://store.nike.com/us/en_us/#l=shop,pdp,ctr-inline/cid-1/pid-338522/pgid-338520
http://store.nike.com/us/en_us/?l=shop,pdp,ctr-inline/cid-1/pid-361602/pgid-193569

·
Registered
1,357 Posts