Kanye to The banner
1 - 20 of 111 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gernegy & Maties - Biceps:

KiD CuDi's "In My Dreams" is entirely a sample. Underground band not credited anywhere in the liner notes either. Shame on Emile and the KiD CuDi camp.

As a producer/artist, I care because as an unknown artist, I'd be pissed as hell if my work got sampled for a major label work without being credited or compensated for in any way whatsoever. Keep in mind that I am not against sampling (I do it myself, and I AM aware that hip-hop was created from sampling); however, I AM against generating thousands, perhaps millions, of dollars in capital for a supposedly original work that is actually entirely someone else's (all they did was add strings). If this was a free mixtape, then I wouldn't even care if there was no credit given. Just... Damn.

What do y'all think?

·
Registered
99,393 Posts
smh hes right tho
all emile added was some bass
i would be pissed as hell if some dude threw his name over my shit all because he added one little aspect + didnt even credit me

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
MikeDeanOnTheWeeds said:
nvm ... it wasnt that heavy.. the extra synths and jazz was a nice touch
ayo mike i interned as an assitant engineer with Harvey Luv at FMG Studios here in houston, tx. he said he knew you a long time ago.

i know y'all think i'm a *** for posting this; maybe i am overreacting, but i thought all major label releases made sure to properly clear the samples tbh. sampling is an art.

·
Banned
19,505 Posts
bobbyearth said:
ayo mike i interned as an assitant engineer with Harvey Luv at FMG Studios here in houston, tx. he said he knew you a long time ago.

i know y'all think i'm a *** for posting this; maybe i am overreacting, but i thought all major label releases made sure to properly clear the samples tbh. sampling is an art.
you think im THEREALMIKEDEAN :hah: now i think your a ***

·
Registered
120 Posts