Kanye to The banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10,121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Simple, dumbass fucking question that's probably in the wrong section.

But how did some of you guys learn how to produce? It's something I've always wanted to do, and now since I lost my job and shit I have nothing to do at home, so I figure this is the perfect chance to try it out.

What was the first software you used? Which is the one you use today/got most familiar with? How did you learn to use it? I'm curious cause I'm a completely newbie when it comes to this, but I really do want to learn.

·
Premium Member
55,302 Posts
freebread said:
Simple, dumbass fucking question that's probably in the wrong section.

But how did some of you guys learn how to produce? It's something I've always wanted to do, and now since I lost my job and shit I have nothing to do at home, so I figure this is the perfect chance to try it out.

What was the first software you used? Which is the one you use today/got most familiar with? How did you learn to use it? I'm curious cause I'm a completely newbie when it comes to this, but I really do want to learn.
Started w/ FL Studio, and read the manual & played around on it for a few weeks. Then I looked up some youtube tutorials. I also listened really close to some modern beats to see what all to add in a beat because I've never played an instrument and have zero knowedge of music theory. And just practice, practice, practice

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Started in a program called LMMS, which is kinda similar to FL just is crappier. Played around in the program, got FL, read 5th Element's Drum tutorial and one or 2 on YT and just through others online via critique.

·
Registered
91,785 Posts
Started out as a songwriter in a band playing guitar. Then started using FL to lay out my songs. Bought a Mac and went further with it using Logic. It was just a gradual, natural process for me. Only been making hip-hop beats for like, a year max.

·
Registered